2 Comments

Chemo, hick-ups, home and scrapes

Yesterday I had my second day of Cyclophosphamide.

Cyclophosphamide belongs to a class of drugs known as alkylation agents, which have been used to treat some types of cancer. It is also considered an immunosuppressant—a medicine that can decrease the immune response. It works by slowing or stopping cell growth.

The chemo is not that bad; it just gave me severe hick-ups.

The staff continues to be friendly and full of jokes. The Cape Malaise has a culture all off their own. They speak English and Afrikaans and mixture of the two that no one can comprehend. Here is photo off me and two off the staff with one of them with her “church hat”.

As my chemo finished late I was only discharged this morning. Mr. Brown, (head of Haematology ward) unplugged me and prepared my Hickman line in a neat little bow to send me home. I was so glad to be home in my ?”own” bed.

I got out of bed to go to the loo and misjudged the slipperiness off the waxed wooden floors. I fell and scraped my back on the framework of my bed.

For lunch my mother made me delicious mushroom soup and I had fruit cocktail for dessert.

It would have been smooth sailing if not for the hick-ups.

2 comments on “Chemo, hick-ups, home and scrapes

  1. Hang in there. I am watching this space.

  2. Ouch! I am glad you can be in your own bed 🙂 Much more restful!

Leave a Reply

