5 Comments

General update Day +50

It has been almost 3 weeks since my discharge and last blog post… I am bad at hiving updates, I know.

Shortly after my discharge I went for follow up bloods and visit with Prof Novitzky and he told me that my blood levels are excellent and that I am no longer neutropenic! He also said that I am fine for travel and that there is no reason for me to have a follow up visit. I was so glad, it meant that the rest of our stay in Cape Town was purely holiday!

We moved our accommodation to Simons Town, about an hour from where we stayed in Observatory. The new place had 3 levels, so I had to climb a lot of stairs, something I would not have been able to do before my treatment. My brother and his girlfriend joined us just before Christmas so I went out with them, to shops and to the beach, also something I was not able to do before. I needed support at times, but luckily someone’s shoulder or a wall was always close by to lean on.

On the 10th of January my father went back to Saudi to start work again after 68 days of leave. My mother and I traveled on that same day to Pretoria to visit family. I had a wedding where I saw my father’s side of the family, a lunch where I saw my mother’s side and had dinner with my best friend. I will see the rest of my friends and more of my family in the week to come before my mother and I leave for Saudi on the 24th.

There are certain MS side effects that improved in the week since my discharge but have since worsened again, notably my eye sight, my balance and the tremors in my left hand. But despite the worsening, it is still better than before treatment. Something that has not improved is my nocturnal bladder control and I still wear a condom catheter to bed. On the positive side, my speech has improved and my fatigue is a lot less as well as my concentration and cognitive function.

When back in Saudi I will start my fitness regiment and work on regaining muscle mass that I lost as well as muscle function that has atrophied.

5 comments on “General update Day +50

  1. Benard, you sound like a busy man, but also a slightly healthier man! Enjoy your last little bit in SA.
    Christelle
    xxx

  2. There seems to be a huge improvement, it will get even better with your rehab program me in Saudi! Good luck. Come visit again at Franki’s Vineyards. Erica

  3. Wow! You definitely sound like you have not been “taking it easy” but living LARGE 🙂 I do hope that you will slow down just a bit so you can recover properly, I am sure you are just so excited to be out and about. The other HSCT’ers say it does take up to 18 months to see final benefits of treatment so hang in there and keep leaning on those who love ya!

  4. I would suggest you ask a doctor to prescribe you Zanaflex which is often prescribed for spasticity in MS patients. I found that it help me with my spasticity, but also helped with Nocturia. I only use Zanaflex at nighttime because it puts me asleep within 15 minutes, and it keeps me asleep for a minimum of 2 hours. I am happy to hear that you are doing so well in your recovery. I am at almost 10 months in my post-transplant recovery, and I am happy to report that I am walking unaided now 🙂

  5. you did it! get better and better 🙂
    Dao.

Leave a Reply

